Archive for June 18th, 2009

My bad guys are more eco-friendly than your bad guys

Well I decided to man up and just learn how to model in Max myself. It’s something I’ve been wanting to do for a while anyways. After a couple of tutorials and forum posts I figured out what I need to make the basic building blocks of the cabin, as well as some of the finer details. Today I primarily worked on the roof. Learned how to make diagonal pieces of geometry but still have the textures (wood panels) run straight horizontally.

It’s pretty funny because it doesn’t sound that impressive, and I think I could replicate everything I did today in an hour or so, but the other few were just spent on a learning curve. I’m getting a better foundation in Max for it so all’s good.

I was mulling over what kind of material to use on the roof when I realized that solar panels look cool, and would make sense for the setting (near future economic collapse – energy is scarce).  I made the roof out of a simple 4 sided primitive. I could have made seperate panels but normal mapping goes a long way here and it’s ncie to save performance where I can.

Solar1Solar2


June 2009
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930